The Constitution allows the free use of Creole, English and French, although legislation may prescribe a particular language for specific purposes. Seychellois Creole is also called Kreol Seselwa or Kreol Sesel. The Seychelles Creole Academy, also known as Lakademi Kreol Sesel, develops the language, publishes materials and supports standardized learning resources. The University of Seychelles Creole Language and Culture Research Institute contributes research, publications and public education activities. A general publicly documented beginner course in Creole is not currently established, so learners may use the national school curriculum, adult literacy classes, Academy materials or University activities instead. Children encounter language learning through the national education system. The Seychelles Early Learning Framework includes communication and language development, with proficiency in Creole, English and French as a stated aim. National curriculum documents and teaching resources cover English, Français and KREOL from primary through secondary education. State access follows regular school admission, and no separate publicly documented language-course fee is identified for this school-based provision. Language assessments occur at several stages, including P2, P4, P6, S3 and S5. At S5, learners may follow Cambridge IGCSE examinations or S5 National Examinations, depending on the available pathway. Adults and people seeking a second chance can use the Seychelles Institute of Distance and Open Learning, known as SIDOL. Its adult literacy provision covers Creole, English and French alongside basic numeracy. The documented levels are basic for one year, intermediate for one year and advanced for two years. These levels are not presented as Seychelles National Qualifications Framework levels. SIDOL also offers open and distance learning and part-time study, commonly in the evening or on Saturdays. Current fees for the adult literacy courses are not publicly stated. Academic options include IGCSE English First or Second Language for one year at SCR 1,500, and A Level English Language for two years at SCR 2,000 per year. Registration takes place through SIDOL, with payment before the course starts. Business Communication in English is available at Levels 1 and 2, typically for 30 to 40 hours, with a written examination and a SIDOL certificate. Delivery may take place on campus or in-house for ministries and organizations. Alliance Française des Seychelles provides French courses for children, young people, adults, companies and institutions. Its offer includes general French, professional French, individual lessons and preparation for DELF or DALF examinations. Courses use the CEFR scale from A1 to C2. The documented 2026 sessions ran from 19 January to 18 April, 9 May to 25 July and 5 September to 23 November. Membership cost SCR 100, while course prices were set locally and paid in full at registration. A five-working-day refund window applied to course payments, while examination fees were non-refundable. Current prices and schedules should be confirmed directly because they can change. DELF and DALF are French proficiency diplomas covering four skills. Alliance Française des Seychelles is an official examination centre offering levels A1, A2, B1, B2, C1 and C2, with approximately two examination sessions each year around March to April and November to December. The diplomas are valid for life, and candidates may enter the level that matches their ability without taking every lower level. DELF Scolaire serves school-age children and young people. English assessment for international purposes is available through IELTS Academic and IELTS General Training in Victoria. The documented providers are British Council Mauritius together with The Guy Morel Institute Seychelles. There are four sessions per year, and the 2026 computer-test price was approximately USD 405. Candidates need valid identification, and applicants under 18 need parental consent. IELTS preparation and language-course provision in Seychelles is not fully documented in the available research, so the examination provider should be contacted about current preparation options. English and French can also support employment and professional communication. SIDOL provides English for administration and communication, while Alliance Française offers professional French and company courses. The Seychelles Tourism Academy has a language laboratory for tourism-related learning, although current course details are not publicly specified. IELTS General Training can provide an international English-language record, but no general statutory language examination for employment in Seychelles is documented. A course certificate does not automatically prove everyday language ability, and school attendance alone does not establish a particular level. The Ministry of Education and Human Resource Development, including its curriculum, assessment and educational-technology units, is central to school-based language learning. Digital resources include student materials for English and French, a primary e-library and other learning environments supported by the Ministry. SIDOL supplies an open and distance-learning option. No separate nationwide language-learning application or complete national digital language platform is currently documented. Most specialist provision is concentrated around Mahé and Victoria, while reliable separate coverage for Praslin and La Digue has not been established. For recognized qualifications, the Seychelles Qualifications Authority registers nationally recognized certificates, diplomas and degrees under quality and recognition rules. The Seychelles National Qualifications Framework has ten levels. Provider registration, quality assurance, standards, recognition, fees and appeals can affect the value of a qualification, so a language-course certificate should not be treated as equivalent to a nationally registered qualification without checking the provider and award. University-level specialization is available through the University of Seychelles MASTRI Master Trileng Kreol-English-Français. This blended full-time programme is an advanced academic and professional option, not a beginner course. Documented requirements include a relevant degree, DELF B2 and English O-Level or IGCSE C, with DALF C1 relevant to Aix-Marseille mobility. The documented tuition was SCR 150,000 per year, and registration was open until July 2026.
Languages in Seychelles
Seychelles has three constitutional national languages, Seychellois Creole, English and French. Language learning takes place through schools, adult education, specialist courses, international examinations and informal practice. The suitable option depends on whether the goal is everyday communication, literacy, school achievement, work, further study or an internationally recognized certificate.
Tip
Choose the learning option according to your immediate goal rather than treating every language certificate as equivalent. Use school or SIDOL provision for literacy and regular learning, Alliance Française for structured French and DELF or DALF preparation, and IELTS when an international English result is specifically required. Check current schedules, fees, access and recognition before paying, especially outside Mahé and Victoria.

