Unemployment means a period without desired paid work. In Lesotho, long-term unemployment, youth unemployment, rural households and informal access to work are central features of the situation. The 2024 Labour Force Survey recorded 236,576 unemployed people in a labour force of 1,510,701 people aged 15 and over. The unemployment rate was 30.1%, youth unemployment for ages 15–24 was 48.8%, and 42.4% of unemployed people had been without work for at least 24 months. The survey also recorded a potential labour force of 232,950 and a broader labour-underutilisation measure of 46.1%. These figures describe the national situation and do not determine whether a particular person qualifies for a programme or payment. Lesotho has no verified formal, ongoing unemployment insurance or universal unemployment benefit. Such a scheme would normally pay eligible people during a period without work, subject to conditions such as contributions, registration or availability for work. The available national evidence does not establish a current payment rate, waiting period, maximum duration or application procedure. A National Social Security Scheme policy had been finalised, with legislative drafting reported as forthcoming on 26 November 2025. The 2025/26 Budget announced a Bill, but that announcement does not establish a published unemployment payment. No general reporting or acceptance-of-work duty linked to an unemployment benefit is evidenced where no such benefit is being paid. National Employment Services, abbreviated as NES, operates under the Ministry of Labour and Employment. It provides job-seeker registration, placement, career information and guidance, and lists services connected with Graduate Apprenticeship, skills support and self-employment group registration. Registration and placement are the main formal public employment services for returning to work, but they do not create a cash unemployment benefit. The current documents, fee and processing time for job-seeker registration are not published in the available information. The Ministry's Maseru headquarters lists telephone number +266 22322565, which can be used to confirm current requirements and service availability. Graduate Apprenticeship requires a curriculum vitae, certificates and a National ID. The published information gives a one-day timeline and does not state a fee. The programme provides work-related experience and possible placement, not unemployment insurance. The NVC programme is another transition option for a currently unemployed Mosotho aged 18 to 35 who holds a diploma or degree. It uses an online application, places participants with a host organisation for two years of volunteer service and provides a monthly Government stipend. The available information does not state an application fee. The stipend and any later placement depend on the programme's conditions and do not amount to a general unemployment payment. Social Cash Transfer supports households classified as poor or at risk of poverty rather than people solely because they are unemployed. The 2024 Labour Force Survey recorded household coverage of 7.1%. Public Work Assistance concerns vulnerable adults aged 18 to 60 with non-monetary needs, and recorded household coverage was 0.9%. A 2024 public-work or cash-for-work action in Qacha's Nek reached 6,750 rural-poor participants for six months. Such activities depend on the locality, budget and programme cycle; they are not permanent unemployment entitlements. Payment amounts and application deadlines are set locally or cyclically and are not centrally published in the available evidence. Current eligibility and openings should be confirmed with the Ministry of Social Development or the local implementing office. People in Lesotho most often search for work through relatives, friends and other personal contacts, which accounted for 53.4% of reported job-search methods in 2024. Prospective employers accounted for 19.1%, factories and work sites for 17.4%, employment centres for 1.6% and websites or job portals for 0.5%. Informal networks can therefore be practically useful even though they do not replace public registration, a written employment contract or proof of an application. A job seeker can combine personal contacts with NES registration, direct applications, apprenticeship applications and checks for current public-work or social-assistance cycles. When unemployment follows the end of a job, the Labour Act 2024 determines several rights. For an indefinite contract, written notice is generally one month after at least one year of service, two weeks after more than six months but less than one year, and one week after less than six months. The employer may provide payment instead of the notice period. A fixed-term or specific-task contract generally ends without notice when its agreed term or task ends. Accrued employment rights remain due. After more than one month of service, a worker can request a Certificate of Service. After more than one year of continuous service, severance is two weeks' wages for each completed year. The Labour Act 2024 recognises capacity, conduct and operational requirements as permitted grounds for dismissal. The employer must give written reasons at dismissal or within two weeks. A worker challenging an unfair dismissal generally refers the matter in writing to the Directorate of Dispute Prevention and Resolution, abbreviated as DDPR, within three months of dismissal. A late referral may be accepted where there is good cause. Available remedies include reinstatement or fair and reasonable compensation. Claims by probationary, casual and part-time workers can be restricted, subject to statutory exceptions, so the contract and circumstances need to be checked rather than assumed. The practical response to unemployment in Lesotho therefore depends on the person's previous employment, household resources, location, age, qualifications and current programme cycle. A person leaving employment should keep the contract, written notice or dismissal reasons, proof of service, wage records and evidence of accrued rights. A person seeking work should confirm NES registration requirements, prepare a CV and certificates, check Graduate Apprenticeship and NVC conditions, and ask the Ministry of Social Development or local offices about current assistance. Each programme has its own eligibility conditions, and the available evidence does not show a single national payment or single application process for all unemployed people.
Unemployment in Lesotho
Lesotho has no verified formal, ongoing unemployment insurance or universal unemployment payment. The 2024 Labour Force Survey recorded 236,576 unemployed people among a labour force of 1,510,701 people aged 15 and over; the unemployment rate was 30.1%, and youth unemployment for ages 15–24 was 48.8%. Job seekers commonly rely on relatives and friends, prospective employers, factories and work sites, while National Employment Services provides a formal registration and placement service. Income support is fragmented: Social Cash Transfer and time-limited public works depend on poverty, vulnerability, location and programme cycles.
Tip
Treat unemployment in Lesotho as a period requiring parallel action: protect rights from the previous job, seek work through both formal services and personal contacts, and check assistance programmes without relying on them as guaranteed income. Choose Graduate Apprenticeship or the NVC programme when experience and placement prospects justify their conditions, and assess Social Cash Transfer or public works only against their poverty, vulnerability and cycle requirements.

